Oldster's View

Fight Against Maturity

Inspector Cleauso?

Ananova
…Rachel and Jon Palmer were stunned when the cop knocked on their door and told them they were suspected of stealing [a missing shuttlecock], reports The Sun.The drama started when two 13-year-old girls lost the shuttlecock while playing in their garden in Soham, Cambridgeshire.

They asked neighbour Rachel, 25, to look for it and she searched her own garden without success.

She said: “I told them if I stumbled across it I’d throw it over the fence to them. Later on they came back and asked Jon if it was in the garden. He had another look and he couldn’t find it either. But at 8pm that night a police officer knocked on the door, which woke up the children.”

Rachel added: “When I saw a policeman standing there I was terrified something awful had happened. When he told me he was investigating a missing shuttlecock I thought Jeremy Beadle would jump out from behind him. He said he’d been told I was refusing to give back a shuttlecock. I couldn’t believe what he was saying. He was quite off-hand. In the end Jon asked him to leave and he did.”

A Cambridgeshire police spokeswoman said: “We did receive a call in relation to this incident but no formal complaint was made. The officer in question has been spoken to.”

April 23, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

